Home » Uncategorized » Fishing

Fishing

I woke this morning feeling so down, so I grabbed my scriptures and guess what I’ve been reading for the past few days…come take a wild guess. Deuteronomy, I’m imagining fireworks popping right about now.  In the book, Moses spoke to the people in Israel about Gods commandments. He laid everything on the line. Oh man oh man, it was all fireworks, it was indeed magical.

God, I thank you for today. I thank you for been my fortress, my love and my hope. “In you, O Lord, I have taken refuge; let me never be put to shame” (Psalm 71:1). There’s so much on my mind and I’m not sure exactly where to start.

So after I read my scripture, I started meditating for a while. Then tears just starts gushing from all over, I was sweating very much too. Probably didn’t need to know that last part. I just let it all out till. At the time I was bitter because I made some mistakes the night before and I thought it was punishment for not withdrawing to indulgence. Then I brushed my teeth and prayed.  During my prayers, I asked for forgiveness, and almost instantly I felt better. I was like its Sunday, and there’s just no way I can be a “Debby downer” on this day. I almost wanted to slap myself for not doing it much sooner. But then I quickly reminded myself that God has his own timing for everything, and it’s the only one that matters.

This got me thinking about how my heavenly father is the only constant thing in my life. Which is how it should be, he’s been waiting on me for years. What took me so long? It’s like what have I been doing with my life? My goodness, I’m literally speechless right now. I think I’ve ran out of words to describe God. This freedom that I’m feeling is because of Him. How can I not worship, or obey him or better yet love him with all my heart. I absolutely can’t live without Him.

You have no idea how many times I felt lonely this past week. After my brother left, everything was just quiet. Too quiet in fact, but God was with me the whole time. He comforts me, and it’s a different kind of coziness too. Its literally one of genuine satisfaction and appreciation, I’m like where else can I get this? Absolutely no where! Its definitely one that even the best of friends, parents, significant other or any mortal being can get you. I just can’t put a price tag on it, it’s priceless.  

I thought I would get tons of studying done, but let’s be real it didn’t happen. I read a bit which counts for something. No, it counted for a lot actually. But I wasn’t disappointed for I was on a Journey with Christ; I really just let Him lead the way, he knows best after all.  Each day was a different scripture, which I needed to know, for he wanted to show how/why he really is the “Prince of Peace”. It was necessary to have a better understanding of him, and his great work. And above all it’s all to further my testimony on why faith is so important. On why following his commandments, are so crucial if I want to walk with Him. On why I should put Him first before I do anything. On why I should seeks his council in all that I do.

He’s definitely the love of my life. There’s no greater love than this. He’s everywhere; I mean really think about it. He’s everywhere. I just thought of a scripture in Ruth (let me find it real quick). Well I can’t find it. But to summarize it all, it says “where you go I will go and your people become my people”.  It was Ruth taking to her mother in law Naomi, but still. She had enough faith in Christ for that to even come out of her mouth. Like who goes around saying that. Oh my goodness I found it yay. “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God” (Ruth 1:16). Stunning right?!?! I’m thinking for Ruth to have so much faith in Naomi, and for Naomi to be a Christ like example, it is absolutely gorgeous.  The architect behind it all is Christ. I mean who else? Your people will be my people and your God my God. I love that statement so much. It is a declaration of its’ own. It is so powerful for it holds so much weight. You have no idea how much love is in my heart at this very moment. “I’m finding grace beyond all measures; in flesh and blood he hides his majesty inside of you and me. Why would a king do such a thing? Isn’t it beautiful, isn’t it marvelous God of the Universe. He one of us, we cry out and then love comes down again, hope is found in him hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah” (Love Comes Down, By Matt Maher). Matt’s lyric just describes how I’m feeling much better than I can even try to do. The whole song is exquisite.  

“My mouth is filled with your praise, declaring your splendor all day long” (Psalm 71:8). “I will praise you with the harp for your faithfulness, O my God; I will sing praise to you with the Lyre, O Holy one of Israel. My lips will shout for Joy when I sing praise to you – I, whom you have redeemed” (Psalm 71:22 to 24).

I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ Amen.

Leave a Reply

