Home » Uncategorized » I am Just not Another Christian.

I am Just not Another Christian.

I don’t want to be another stereotypical Christian. I went to Breakaway tonight, and I asked God, to help me see what he wants me to see. After it was all over, as people were singing to “precious cornerstone” I just stay seated meditating on everything that was said, I literally was trying to figure out how I’m suppose to just seat and soak it in. I was like God “What do you want me to do with this?” “What do you want me to do in this situation?”

Then the music stopped, and literally I started seeing a pattern. A pattern on shirts, pants, shoes, everything from head to toe looked almost identical. Then I came back to my apartment and I ask myself “who am I pledging my allegiance to, worldly things or God”?

At breakaway we are talking about Mark 12:1-12. The two questions that arise from the passage according to Ben where 1.why did people want Jesus Christ dead? 2. Why were other people willing to die for Jesus Christ? I’m not trying to re-preach what he says but merely talking about what it stirred up in my heart.

Christians in our society are defined by what they look like on the outside, I didn’t even know this till fairly recent. The obvious question would be, where have I been? We put these stereotypes upon ourselves, then we live up to them. Then society starts picking up on it, and start provoking us to keep living up to our own stereotypes. They keep throwing us new ideas almost daily on how to elevate this ideal Christian persona.

Matthew 7:21-23 says “Not everyone who says to me, “Lord, Lord will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only who does the will of my Father who is in heaven, Many will say to me on that day, “Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles? Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

Why are we living up to our very own stereotypes? It’s in no way shape or form Gods will, yet we go out of our ways daily to satisfy societies view.

I personally think we should be running from it all. I don’t want to be a part of the worldly statistics of how Christians are suppose to look or dress. I want to be the stereotypical Christian God describes in the bible.

We should collectively be looking down on earthly things and look up at heaven, for what awaits is utterly priceless, and is far more significant than what earth supposedly has to offer.

People wanted to kill Christ for they were so angry for He called them out on how they were running His church. “These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men” (Matthew 15:8-9).

We live in an age, where we succumb to submissively to teachings taught by man. I mean really think about it, some people get satisfaction when meeting the stereotypical Christian standards. It is so sad, and it completely breaks my heart.

Why are we not calling each other out? Why are we not asking each other tough questions about the way we are living? Aren’t you aware that we are all a piece of the puzzle, and if one person is missing, it will be incomplete. What good are you really by keeping your mouth shut and not speaking up? You think you’re helping by not wanting to hurt their feelings, if they’re Christians, surely it won’t upset them. But rather bring them happiness that you brought it up.

And I especially lack this kind of discipline too. I’m pretty blunt for the most part, but when it comes to calling other Christians out on what they shouldn’t be doing, I’ve been failing epically. I’m not consistence, I only do it when I get the feeling that I’ve known the person enough to not hurt their feelings. Consistency though is very necessary, for that is a way we can keep each other accountable. I’m not trying to judge anyone, for that is Gods place and not mines. I just care so much, that I can’t sit their and watch people not practice what they preach.

To answer the second question, God is everything to them, that is why they were willing to give up their lives for God. In Mark 12, God was speaking to the same people physical, but on the inside 2 different types of personalities were prevalent. God didn’t sugarcoat his words just so people would like it, God tells it as it is, you either disagree or approve. For you’re either with God or against. There is no such thing as a grey area with God. So if this life isn’t really yours but Christ, no matter how blunt people might be to you it should never upset you.

Father I’m praying that you give us the desire to be bold with your words, God I’m praying for you to embody my passion family to speak bluntly of your words to anyone and everyone in their pacts. That we would carry Your name so high that nothing else come above it. That everything the world see on the outside will be all about your son Jesus, for as Your words says in 2 Corinthians that “therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation ; the old has gone, the new has come”. God please use the new body you gave us to glorify your name with nothing but utter praise and thanksgiving. Society claims that we must do this, eat that, where that. They simply try to dictate out lives for we are their biggest source of success. We are a mule to society for we keep running to them. God I praying that you’ll make the desires of our hearts your son Jesus Christ. That every thing we speak of, eat and wear will have Jesus written all over it. That when others see us, they won’t simply say oh they Christians by what’s on the outside, but of the fruits our hearts cultivate. God help us stir clear of the typical views of Christians in our world, but rather help us strive to be the Christians your beloved son Jesus Christ describes in the bible. I say this things in the name of your son Jesus Christ, Amen!

Leave a Reply

