Home » Uncategorized » The Cry Of My Generation

The Cry Of My Generation

God, I am so thankful for everything you are about. Today I sat for a bit thinking about a friend and her cry in regards to starting the new chapter of her life. Then it suddenly hit me, her cry is something a lot of college students struggle with. Regretting the major he/she pursed in college, maybe not regret, but just wishing they could have done something else. This is the same cry I have been trying to avoid for the past two years. The thought of ever saying “Oh I should have done that instead, or more so, I wish I had done that major, or gone a different route”. This is the cry of my generation. My generations indecisiveness is a disease in a category all on its own. The problem is not that students do not know what to do, the problem is not asking God, what He wants them to do with the life he gave them. Then in the end students will justify their decision and say “well God is going to use this to glorify His kingdom regardless”. This is true, but only to a certain extent.

If you are with Christ, yes you can do whatever you want, but you cannot abuse the freedom God gave you on anything your heart desire. This is not your life, you cannot do whatever you want. You still have to ask God what he wants you to do with the life He gave you, this is not your choice at all. This life is not about you, it is about glorifying Christ in everything. You cannot just pick whatever major you want and pray that God will use it for His kingdom. That is not how it works, you have to ask God His will for your life. Then abandon your life and take upon His yoke.

The Lord said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land where I will show you. I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing; I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all people on earth will be blessed through you”(Genesis 12:1-3).

This verse from Genesis, paints an image of the importance of submitting to the will of God. To live on faith in a broken and deprived generation. A generation held captive by sin, all human history indeed has come to a dead end. Then God speaks. Abrams family had lost God, not only spiritually, but also physically. As most college Students do not know God. If Jesus had picked their major, they will not be doubting their chosen major in the end. The power of the will of God is absolutely necessary, as Abram was in the best family, but he was spiritually dead. A lot of students are in spiritual death still, and only God can save them. His family stopped worshiping God and succumbed to Idols instead. Students are worshiping textbooks, doing everything it takes to get the satisfaction of saying, “I graduated college with a 4.0”. Woe, to you! Congratulations, but your grades will never give you the qualification to do the will of God. Timothy Keller once said in a sermon, the will/call of God “doesn’t come because you’re qualified. You’re qualified, because it comes. It qualifies you. Human calls can’t give you the qualification, only God”. Yes, a Christian should do his/her best in all things, but if God is not the root of everything, you are wasting your life. A life that was never yours to begin with. If you even think you can justify yourself, you are wrong, misery and anxiety awaits you once you graduate from college. God told Abram “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land where I will show you”. God did not say turn left on that street, then another right on that street. No, He said “Go to a land I will show you”. Abram was given freedom, but God did not allow him to waste the freedom anywhere but the land He wanted him to stay at. If you are expecting point on point directions from God, He is rather not big enough for you, as you should be able to see Him in the tiniest details of life. Students cannot pick whatever major they want, God has to decide for you. He is going to guide you with endless resources to fulfill His will, that you would never even question if that particular major is meant for you.

“Whenever our right becomes the guiding factor of our lives, it dulls our spiritual insight. The greatest enemy of the life of faith in God is not sin, but good choices which are simply not good enough. The good is always the enemy of the best. In this passage, it would seem that the wisest thing in the world for Abram to do would be to choose. It was his right, and the people around Him would consider him to be a fool for not choosing” (Oswald Chambers). Jesus Christ, did not settle for anything besides the will of God, as we also must never settle on an a major unless we are called to by God.

Yes, this is perhaps the most unpopular thing to many students. Students of this generation are getting too comfortable wearing Nike running shorts to class. Been comfortable is what everyone must succumb to according to my generation of students. Blending in, is consider to be the ideal thing, and individuals that are the light in this darkness are labeled by society with negative connotations. Since infancy parents have been telling children “you can do anything you set your mind to”. This is merely a fallacy based on human qualifications. If you are one with Christ, “you will exercise the right to waive your rights, and joyfully let God make your choice for you” (Oswald Chambers). Christians are called to live an uncomfortable lifestyle. Not succumbing to the things of this world, for this world is temporary and it too shall pass. So while the Nike running short might be comfortable for the moment, what about tomorrow, and the day after that, above all what about God?

If God is calling you to be a pastor and your heart is set on been a doctor, are you not offending God by simply even considering your heart desires? Or if in the midst of your studies God started revealing His will for your life, but you are too afraid of not graduating on time that you simply do not even consider His opinion. “I should have stopped and changed my route while I was ahead, but now it is too late” a friend said. My heart crumbled when I heard those words, it was shocking, and I began praying even more on a major, so in the end my tears will be of Joy for the One who sent me.

During this past school year, I had a forty year old guy in on of my classes. Joe, an extremely funny guy, supper ambitious and full of life. He has an engineering degree, but he never used it. Instead he is an electrician. One day, I was absent from class and I received a call from him. I remember I was in a Starbucks parking lot about to park, and the last thing on my mind was about my major. I was shocked to receive a home call from him, I explained why I was absent from school. I remember saying I think I am just going to drop the class etc, things are fuzzy and I do not know what to do. Joe then said “I am forty years old, in a first year biology class, it took me twenty years to finally decide what I want to do. Do not make my same mistake and do something that will not be of use in the future. If it takes a semester or even a whole school year to figure it out, take it now, rather than later. Do not wait 20 years to decided, do it now!” This were not Joes exact words, but the general idea of his message. I have not been able to forget those words since then. I am not sure if Joe is a believer or not, but He is a blessing from God. You do not have to be a believer to be a blessing to others. God made all mankind for one another, people have value. Whether you are a Christian or not, you are valuable and everything you exhibit is of great worth. Even the bad, which God will eventually turn to good and glorify His kingdom. So please, no matter how far you are in your studies I urge you to seek the counsel of Jesus Christ. The will of God will awaken your heart. It doesn’t matter how good or bad you are as an individual, you are in spiritual death still without the will of God. Go back to school if you have to, do not take the job simply to get the satisfaction of saying “I have a job”. Do not make excuses for yourself. I am praying that you will give it all to the one who was and is to come.

I am praying that you will ask God to choose a major for you. That God will be the root of not only your career, but the life he gave you. I am praying that you will see the living God in everything about life. I am praying that you will deter from succumbing to the patterns of society and walk before God (Genesis 17:1). I am praying that you will not be chasing/running after the glitters of this world, but rather just walk, for the glitter is rightfully yours anyways. I am praying that you will learn to walk according to the standard which is completely succumbing to Gods will. That you will not shed a tear in the cry of our generation, so in the end you will not say “I should have done that instead”. I say this things in the name of the precious most High, Amen.

One thought on “The Cry Of My Generation

  1. Pingback: Re-Post – Sometimes I Cry | HOLY MAYHEM

Leave a Reply

